It’s Up-Hill from Here!

 

Today, while perusing the Gawker Blog, I came across a post that perfectly speaks to my life’s current situation:

How Things Work: How the Hell Do You Get a Job In Media In This Town?

Being hot on the job hunt myself, this post confirmed everything I’d been experiencing thus far:
Getting a job in Media in NYC is hard, especially if you’re right of of college.

Out of the 150 (and counting) comments to this blog, the overall concensus was this:
pay your dues, temp, get to know the right people, pay your dues, temp, get to know the right people.

My favorite however was by user, Mitchel_Stevens:

“Claim you’re an expert in “New Media.” No one knows what the fuck it is anyway”

…and that there is quite truthful.

For the next few days, I will be registering with temp agencies, sending my resume to a million places, and praying for the opportunity to “pay my dues.”

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

